The Sacraments


The Seven Sacraments

The Sacraments
Christ instituted the sacraments of the new law. There are seven: Baptism, Confirmation (or Chrismation), the Eucharist, Penance, the Anointing of the Sick, Holy Orders and Matrimony.

The seven sacraments touch all the stages and all the important moments of Christian life: they give birth and increase, healing and mission to the Christian’s life of faith.

There is thus a certain resemblance between the stages of natural life and the stages of the spiritual life.

Catechism of the Catholic Church # 1210

Sacraments of Initiation

Baptism, Confirmation and Eucharist are sacraments of Christian initiation.

Sacraments of Healing

Reconciliation and Anointing of the Sick are the Sacraments of Healing

Sacraments at the Service of Communion

Matrimony and Holy Orders are the Sacraments at the Service of Communion.